Help

Tutorial

An introduction to Users and User Groups in Auctiva Commerce

The Users feature in Auctiva Commerce is like a phone book for your store. Here you can find your customers and business associates by e-mail, last name and company name. You can also look for a user by the permissions granted to them if they belong to user group that has permissions.

What is a user?

A user is anyone who has a registered account with your store. By default, when a customer creates an order, they are asked to register. It is not required that they register. They can choose to "anonymously" complete the order, which will not require they create an account. They still will need to enter the mandatory customer information (i.e., shipping address, billing address, etc.) to complete the order. Visitors to your storefront can register without making an order as well. When they register, their information is automatically logged into Auctiva Commerce, too. Additionally, you can manually enter in customer information.

Not all users are customers. You can manually create a user account and assign that individual to a User Group that has administration permissions. These types of registered users are allowed access to Auctiva Commerce administration to make changes to your store. You could create these individual accounts for business partners, employees and even manufacturers to give them limited administration privileges.

What is a user group?

A user group is a defined group of users. User Groups can be assigned permissions that grant business partners or employees access to the store administration. User Groups are not just for business associates, however. You can create User Groups to organize your customers into meaningful groups. User Groups are frequently called upon in Auctiva Commerce to grant these users access to customer-related features, such as coupons, shipping methods, payment methods, and so on. A classic example of a customer-based user group is a "loyalty club" group that will be assigned to special coupons for their loyalty to your store. It is extremely important that you do not give a customer-based user group any permissions to your store. You don't want your customers to have access to your Auctiva Commerce administration.

What are the store administration permissions?

User Groups can have permissions to allow the users of this group to make changes on your store. There are several types of permissions that limit the user from gaining access to certain areas of Auctiva Commerce administration. These are the different permissions you can assign to a user group:

  • System: This user can access all areas in the store and assign admin permissions.
  • Admin: Members of this group can do everything a Store Admin can do except access other Admin user profiles, assign Admin permissions and view certain security features.
  • Jr. Admin - Members of this group can do everything an Admin user can do except access the Security menus, edit other Admin user or change any User Group permissions.
  • Manage Orders: Members of this group can work with orders and nothing else.
  • Manage Catalog: Members of this group can work with the catalog (i.e., store inventory) and nothing else.
  • Website Admins: Members of this group only have access to the setup links accessible from the administration dashboard. As such, they can only edit store settings, shipping carriers, shipping methods, warehouse setup, payment setup and store theme functions.
  • View Reports: Members of this group can view reports and nothing else.

How to add a user as a store customer

You can manually add a user as a customer. This might be necessary when a customer phones in an order.

Step 1. Add a user.
  • Go Admin> Users. This will take you to the Search for Users Page.
  • Find the Add User box on the right.
  • Email: Enter the user's e-mail address.
  • Password: Create a password for this user. A password length must be at least 6 characters with at least one upper case character and one non-alphabet character.
  • Retype: Retype the password. This is required to make sure the desired password was entered correctly.
  • Group: Assign a User Group if desired. This is not required. You should not assign a customer to User Group that has permissions unless you want to give this person access to your store administration.
  • Click the Save button.

The new user will be displayed in the lower left of the Search for Users page. You can delete or edit users by using the Delete and Edit buttons.

How to add a user as a store administrator

You can manually add a user with administration privileges. This might be necessary when you have employees or business partners who make changes to your store.

Step 1. Add a user.
  • Go Admin> Users. This will take you to the Search for Users Page.
  • Find the Add User box on the right.
  • Email: Enter the user's e-mail address.
  • Password: Create a password for this user. A password length must be at least 6 characters with at least one upper case character and one non-alphabet character.
  • Retype: Retype the password. This is required to make sure the desired password was entered correctly.
  • Group: Assign a User Group that has administration privileges.
  • Click the Save button.

The new user will be displayed in the lower left of the Search for Users page. You can delete or edit users by using the Delete and Edit buttons.

How to create a user group

User Groups are groups of users. Some of these user groups have permissions in your store. This means you allow them to edit or change aspects of your store, so be cautious when assigning these permissions. Other user groups are groups of customers. These groups typically do not have administration permissions.

You can also create User Groups to offer special deals or discounts to certain customers without granting them permissions.

Step 1. Create User Group.
  • Go Admin> User Groups. The Manage Groups page will load.
  • Find the Add Group box to the right of the page.
  • Group Name: Enter the desired name.
  • Permissions: Do not make a selection if this is a user group for customers. This field is only for granting certain types of administration privileges (see below for details).
  • Check Tax Exempt box if you don't want to charge this group taxes.
  • Click the Save button.

The new user group will be displayed in the lower left of the Search for Users page. You can delete or edit users by using the Delete and Edit buttons.

Tags

◄ Back to Help

Customer Support

If you have been unable to find the answer you were looking for using our Help documentation, please file a customer support request. We have customer support professionals ready to help you 24 hours a day, Monday - Friday (excluding major holidays.)